I've felt comfortable and have built trust with them. They work hard and it shows. I am super thankful to have worked with them.
Overview of the Rhode Island Workers’ Compensation System
In most cases, people injured on the job in Rhode Island are entitled to receive workers’ compensation benefits. With few exceptions, Rhode Island law requires employers to carry workers’ compensation insurance. Independent contractors are not covered. However, many workers who are actually employees for workers’ comp purposes have been misclassified as independent contractors.Contact for a free consultation
Our practice is devoted exclusively to accident, injury and disability matters. We have recovered millions of dollars, helping thousands of clients in our community. For dedicated legal advocates after a workplace injury, you can rely on our experienced Rhode Island accident and injury lawyers at Marasco & Nesselbush.
We offer a free review of your case, so contact us for no-cost advice about your legal rights.
What Is Workers’ Compensation Insurance?
In exchange for these benefits, workers are prohibited from filing lawsuits against their employers for work-related injuries, and they give up the right to recover compensation from their employer for pain and suffering as a result of their injuries. However, these and other forms of compensation may be available in a separate claim against a liable non-employer third party.
The Rhode Island Division of Workers’ Compensation oversees the system, ensuring that employers carry the required insurance and file reports of worker injuries, that claims are paid correctly and that workers’ comp insurance carriers file the proper reports.
The Workers’ Compensation Court, established by the Rhode Island Workers’ Compensation Act, is made up of nine associate judges and a chief judge and has jurisdiction over civil workers’ compensation matters. Criminal matters are handled in district and superior courts.
Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Rhode Island
If your work-related injuries leave you incapacitated and unable to earn a comparable wage for three consecutive days, compensation benefits will begin on the fourth day after your accident or injuries. Depending on the nature and extent of your injuries, you may also be entitled to rehabilitation or loss-of-use or disfigurement benefits. Families of workers who are killed in work-related accidents are entitled to recover survivor benefits.
Weekly benefits under workers’ compensation fall into three categories:
- Total disability – These benefits apply only to injured workers who are completely disabled and cannot earn wages in any type of work. If you become totally disabled by a work-related injury or illness, your weekly benefits will be calculated at 75 percent of your spendable wages, including bonuses and supplemental earnings. The Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training provides a Calculation of Compensation Rate guide online.
- Partial disability – When an employee is not totally disabled but a workplace injury or illness has affected his or her ability to earn full wages, the employee may be eligible for partial disability benefits. The compensation rate for such an employee may be reduced by the Workers’ Compensation Court when the employee has reached what is termed “maximum medical improvement.”
- Dependency allowance – These are benefits for dependents of totally disabled workers in the amount of $15 a week per dependent. Dependents of workers who have died from workplace injuries may be entitled to receive $40 a week.
"I am a motor vehicle versus pedestrian, accident survivor. Although struck in a crosswalk outside my clinic. As a physician, I’ve had to deal and negotiate with insurance companies in the healthcare arena my entire career. Consequently, I felt that legal counseling would be the safest and most prudent way to approach this unfortunate circumstance. Having researched the numerous legal offices on the internet, Marasco and Nesselbush had a very strong and positive presence, and I must sincerely and wholeheartedly agree.
The Firm, and my M&N attorney, represented me in the most professional and experienced manner, and with ethics of the highest standards, during a significantly emotional time in my life. My M&N attorney was knowledgeable and compassionate about my case and situation. He came to my home the very day I contacted his law firm, thoroughly explained every detail clearly and distinctly, and honestly answered all of my questions. He was genuine, personal, reliable, and patient, offering not only professional support and responsible legal counsel, but also friendship and guidance during a difficult time and situation in my life. He and his staff have earned my deepest trust and respect. I wholeheartedly recommend Marasco and Nesselbush."
- Dr. P
I love this law firm! My lawyer was compassionate, kind and understanding during a very difficult time.
They have been absolutely wonderful throughout my case-with a mix of professionalism and friendship all in one.
How to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in Rhode Island
Your employer is legally required to file with the Division of Workers’ Compensation a First Report of Injury within 10 days of the injury or the employer’s knowledge of it. In the case of a fatal injury, the employer must file a report within 48 hours.
You may choose your own medical provider after an on-the-job injury in Rhode Island. Your provider of choice may refer you to a specialist without prior approval from the insurance company. All medical expenses should be paid in full by the workers’ compensation carrier, with no deductibles or co-pays.
If you have sustained a serious on-the-job injury or developed an occupational illness, get in touch with Marasco & Nesselbush. Our experienced Rhode Island workers’ compensation attorneys stand ready to protect your rights and help you pursue the benefits you need to move forward with your life. We have one simple goal: to obtain extraordinary results for each and every client.
- Rhode Island Statutes: Workers’ Compensation – General Provisions
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training: Workers’ Compensation
- Rhode Island Statutes: Workers’ Compensation Court
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training: Injured Worker Information
- Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training: Calculation of Compensation Rate